380 Midpark Way Se
Calgary, AB T2X 1T8

The Plow Western Tap and Grill

Neighborhoods: Midnapore
Cuisine: Steak, Steakhouse, Canadian

The Plow Western Tap and Grill is a Steak, Steakhouse, and Canadian restaurant where most Menuism users came for a business meeting and paid more than $50.

Offer Available!
  • 10/26/2014

    A dining patron from Seattle, WA tried it, liked it, and rated it . They liked the food, liked the service, and liked the ambiance.

johnwilliamwade photo


 Calgary, AB

Get Your Debate Skills Tuned Before Coming Here!

Congratulations to The Plow for inspiring me to become a member of this site and writing my very first review!
Unfortunately, it is not a positive review, but now that I am a member here I will take the time to also give some positive reviews of the restaurants that do excellent work here in Calgary.
My family and I took my clients out to The Plow last night (December 12th, 2014) for dinner. My clients are from out of town and were staying at The Wingate Hotel in the same location and suggested that we have dinner there as they had seen the decorum and were excited to eat there. I am always open to new restaurant experiences and agreed to eat there.
It was confirmed to us that this restaurant would be child friendly which is important to me as I have a 2 y/o and an infant in tow. When we arrived, my wife searched the washrooms for a place to change our infant and could not find a place. My wife asked if there was a private place she could go to change our baby and were told sorry so my wife went to a booth next to us in front of the other patrons and changed our baby; an ominous sign of things to come.
Our waitress Caleigh, came to us in a cheerful tone and greeted us. She also informed us that it was her first night so she was still getting used to the menu and such. My clients ordered the Avocado appetizers, the French Onion Soups and Beef Dip Sandwich. My family ordered the Calamari, Hawaiian Pizza, New York Strip Steak with Peppercorn Sauce and French Onion Soup.
The food was ok. It was served hot and tasted average. The Peppercorn Sauce is a $4 add on and I barely had any on my plate, but other than that the food was ok.
Caleigh’s service was NOT bad for her first night on the job. I found later that she had some experience from Moxies from before and she tried hard to make our experience a good one.
There is a Big Screen TV in the center of the restaurant that was playing MMA bouts on the screen which we found inappropriate for our 2 year old to be gazing and asked our waitress to have the channel changed. We saw her ask the bar to change the channel, but to no avail. After 3 separate attempts by members of our party over the course of 20 minutes, the restaurant FINALLY changed the channel to the hockey game.
When I received the bill I was informed by our server that there was an AUTOMATIC GRATUITY ADDED to our bill because we are a group over 5 PEOPLE!!!! The Automatic Gratuity is 18% by the way. I asked her why this was done and she informed me that it was restaurant policy and there was not much she could do. To my embarrassment, my clients urged me to speak with the manager so I asked our server to send the manager over.
Unfortunately I forgot to get the manager’s name, but she is a Blonde Haired woman in her 30s. She asked me what was the matter. I began by explaining that I am originally from the restaurant industry and understand that there are automatic gratuities added for large groups but was at a loss for how a group of 5 adults constitutes a large group? I also added that if this was the case then this should be specifically disclosed prior to ordering which it was not. The manager’s response was quite combative. She informed us that it was the restaurant’s policy to do this with larger groups and that it was unfortunate that our server being on her first shift didn’t inform us. I told her that I don’t think throwing a brand new employee under the bus is appropriate and explained to her that if you have a new employee that they require more attention on their first shift and that it would be THE MANAGERS job to be extra attentive to ensure the development of their staff. She then said “Well if you read the menu it discloses that groups will be charged the automatic gratuity.” I asked her to open the menu and indicate where it stated the policy. It was then that we read that the policy was for groups OVER 8 PEOPLE which I pointed out. Her face still didn’t change and she responded by saying that someone had told her that we would have more than 8 people and that even though the others had not shown up that we were committed to the gratuity. My clients were furious at this statement as it was them whom had told the lady that we were right behind them and never indicated that there would be this many people as it is a client appreciation dinner solely for them. The manager finally asked unapologetically asked if I wanted to have the automatic gratuity removed to which I responded with an emphatic YES. She finally relented and made the change.
Upon leaving, the same manager walked right by us, took a quick glance at us and continued walking without even saying a polite good night or thank you for coming.
I am relieved that my clients were the ones who selected this restaurant and not myself. I would probably have damaged my relationship with them had I shown such poor taste in my selection of a restaurant. Just an FYI for the management and ownership of THE PLOW…IF YOU GET INTO A DEBATE WITH YOUR CLIENTELE THERE IS A PROBLEM. CUSTOMERS DO NOT COME TO THE RESTAURANT WANTING TO HAVE TO DEBATE FOR THEIR RIGHTS. WE COME TO RELAX AND TAKE IT EASY.
This has never happened to me at SMUGGLERS or The CATTLEBARONS

NY Striploin w/ Peppercorn Sauce

Very little Peppercorn Sauce for $4.

Steak was ok. Lacked in seasoning. Average.

Steak Steakhouse Poor Service
Contact Business

The Plow Western Tap and Grill  Restaurant Reviews

Copy the link below and paste onto your website or blog to display badge.

People found this by searching for: The Plow Calgary Menu, Western Tap Menu, The Plow Restaurant Calgary, The Plow Western Tap And Grill Customer Comments, The Plow Western Grill Menu, Who Is The Owner Of The Plow Western Tap And Grill, and Plow Midnapore.